"Fortnite" Season 5 Launch Delayed By Epic Games

Fortnite continues to take over the world. Developer Epic Games only launched Fortnite a year ago, but the game's success and popularity has grown at a rate faster than any other title. Although Fortnite is free to play, gamers can purchase in-game currency to fuel the Battle Pass. The Battle Pass allows gamers to compete in weekly challenges, and Fortnite is currently in its fourth season. Today (June 27) Epic Games announced that they would be pushing the launch date for season five back by two days. 

"Season 4 is coming to an end! We want to give you a heads up on the exact ending time," wrote Epic Games. "You may have seen the timer update in-game, which means we are giving you two more days to complete Season 4! Season 5 will begin on July 12th at 4 AM EDT (08:00 GMT)." They also added an extra perk for players who want to close out season 4 strong. "Want even more help earning those last few Battle Pass rewards," they continued. "We’ll be running a +100% match XP weekend starting June 29th at 4AM EDT (08:00 GMT) and ending on July 2nd at 3AM EDT (07:00 GMT). Hop in, catch up on challenges, and earn those Season 4 rewards while you can!"

You may also like...