Disclosure announce new album ‘ENERGY’

Disclosure will release their third album ‘ENERGY’ on August 28 Island Records.

The 11-track release sees the brothers work with rappers for the first time, with slowthai, Aminé, Mick Jenkins, Channel Tres and Common among the features. Other guest spots come from Kelis, Fatoumata Diawara, Blick Bassy, Kehlani and Syd.

Around 200 tracks of various stages of completion were made for the album, and eventually whittled down to 11 songs with a runtime of 39 minutes.

Watch this next: Disclosure DJ set in The Lab LDN

Speaking about the process, Disclosure said: “The thing that decided which songs made it and which songs didn’t was that one word: energy. Every track was written really quickly. That’s why we had to write so many songs because those ones don’t come up every day. Or every week. Or every month.”

The five-time Grammy-nominated duo have also shared the title-track from the LP. It features samples of Brazilian rhythms and hip hop preacher Eric Thomas, whose voice was previously used in Disclosure’s 2013 track ‘When a Fire Starts to Burn’.

Disclosure said: “When we found Eric many years ago, he was like a goldmine of inspirational quotes and motivational speeches. Even if he was speaking to a room of five it was like he was addressing a stadium. He has an immense presence and energy about him that translates so well into music – especially house music."

Read this next: 20 of the best house music samples

‘ENERGY’ will be available in vinyl, CD and cassette physical formats with packing made from sustainable materials.

Listen to ‘ENERGY below. Check out the tracklist and pre-order the album here.

1. Watch Your Step
2. Lavender
3. My High
4. Who Knew?
5. Douha (Mali Mali)
6. Fractal (Interlude)
7. Ce n’est pas
9. Thinking ‘Bout You (Interlude)
10. Birthday
11. Reverie

Patrick Hinton is Mixmag's Digital Features Editor, follow him on Twitter

Read this next: Get the best of Mixmag direct to your Facebook DMs

Load the next article

You may also like...